San Diego Uninsured Driver Accidents
Lawyers for Uninsured Driver Accidents in San Diego, California
When you are injured in an auto accident that is caused by someone else’s negligence, you expect to be able to recover compensation for your injuries and damages. You would generally turn to the auto insurance policy of the at-fault driver to recover these damages in the form of a settlement. This is how most auto accident claims proceed. You contact an attorney to assist with the negotiations and – if necessary – to take the case to trial. Ultimately, the auto insurance policy pays your losses.
But what happens when the driver who caused your auto accident doesn’t have enough auto insurance coverage to address your damages – or worse, what if they don’t have any auto insurance at all? That is the question that we’re going to address, today, though it all starts with a quick phone call to George Arvanitis at 1-800-HURT-NOW (800-487-8669) to discuss the details of your case. You may be entitled to compensation.
Know The Laws Concerning Auto Insurance In California
Every state has its own laws concerning auto insurance coverage, though in many cases they are fairly similar. In California, the law states that all drivers must carry auto insurance with minimum amounts set for coverage. For property damage, for example, the minimum requirement in California is $5,000. For personal liability, each driver must have at least $15,000 per person per incident, and $30,000 per incident. Yet California is well known for having a large number of uninsured drivers. You might be surprised to learn that greater than four million people in this state are uninsured.
What About Underinsured Drivers in San Diego California?
Even if you are fortunate that your auto accident was caused by someone who has auto insurance, and carries the minimum amount of coverage required, that person could still be an underinsured driver. This means that the driver may carry the minimum requirements for coverage, but that amount may not come close to what your actual damages are. You might have hundreds of thousands in damages and medical expenses and lost wages, but the underinsured driver might only have $15K in coverage. So, what are your options when this happens? How can you address the remainder of your damages?
Do You Have UIM Coverage on Your Auto Insurance Policy?
Finding out that the at-fault driver is uninsured or underinsured does not mean that you cannot have your damages fully covered by insurance. The main difference is that you have to turn to your own auto insurance instead of that of the at-fault driver – or in addition to that of the at-fault driver. In fact, UIM coverage (or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage) was designed specifically for this purpose. This is an optional form of coverage that you can add to your auto policy to ensure that you are covered in case there is ever an auto accident caused by someone else who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance. This also comes in handy in hit and run accidents where the at-fault driver cannot be identified or located.
Call George Arvanitis to Learn More About Your Options
If you’ve been in any kind of auto accident in San Diego, whether the at-fault driver does or doesn’t have auto insurance (or doesn’t have enough auto insurance), you would be wise to call an attorney to evaluate your case and learn more about your options. Call 1-800-HURT-NOW (800-487-8669) now to schedule a free consultation.