Riverside CA Uninsured Driver Accident Lawyer
Representation for Uninsured Driver Accidents in Riverside, California
Have you suffered damages in a car accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver? Luckily, you have a few options depending on your personal car insurance coverage. This can be complicated and you shouldn’t try to figure out by yourself.
Contact George Arvanitis at 1-800-HURT-NOW to discuss your options if you’ve been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver in Riverside. The initial consultation is free of charge.
Facts About Uninsured Drivers in California
California law requires that every driver carry a minimum of $15,000/person and $30,000/accident in bodily injury liability coverage, plus a minimum of $5,000 for property damage coverage. Unfortunately, according to the Insurance Research Council, there were more than 4 million uninsured drivers in 2012.
Though the other driver might have insurance, his/her auto insurance coverage might not cover all of your damages and expenses. Assume, for example, that you are rear-ended and end up with neck or back injuries, miss time at work, and need medical treatment to deal with your injuries. The other driver responsible for the accident only carries the statutory minimum of $15,000 on his auto insurance policy. Your total damages might include property damage to your car, plus all of the medical expenses related to your injuries, plus lost wages and perhaps lost future earning capacity. The total of these can easily exceed the statutory minimum coverage on the at-fault driver’s insurance policy.
How do you recover damages after an accident with an Uninsured Motorist
As a preventive measure, in California you can purchase uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage (UM/UIM), known also as Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage, which gives you a value that is equal to the maximum liability policy you already carry. This kind of policy will protect you if you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Similarly, there is another policy known as the Uninsured Motorist Vehicle Damage Coverage that will protect your property.
The UM/UIM protection policy is not mandatory, so you need to verify whether you already have it on your auto insurance policy. There is also other insurance coverage that may be available to you, such as collision coverage that will cover property damage regardless of fault. In some cases, you might have to rely on your health insurance coverages.
Talk to George Arvanitis if you’ve been a victim of an uninsured driver accident in Riverside, to discuss all of your insurance options that may be available, and figure out coverage options that can help you. Contact us at 1-800-HURT-NOW for a free consultation so that we can help you during this difficult time.