Riverside CA Hit and Run Accident Lawyers
Hit & Run Attorneys in Riverside, California
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that hit and run accidents account for approximately 11 out of 100 car accidents in the U.S. Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents are more common than you think and you could be a victim through no fault of your own. If you are a hit-and-run accident victim, contact our experienced accident lawyers in Riverside at 1-800-HURT-NOW now.
How Can I Get Help After Being Involved in A Hit-and-Run?
If you’ve been in a hit-and-run accident in Riverside, be aware that will you probably be in a fight with your insurance adjusters. Insurance companies reward adjusters who can get individuals to accept the lowest compensation possible for their injuries and vehicle damage. Having an experienced accident attorney by your side will give you an edge when dealing with the insurance company.
Immediately after a collision, some motorists may leave the scene immediately. Others may stay on the scene waiting to provide their insurance company information. If a driver refuses to give his insurance information, observe as much as you can including the license plate number, the driver’s appearance, and take a picture of the accident scene if possible. Be sure to contact authorities immediately to submit a police statement and give the information you recorded to the responding officers.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage for Hit-and-Run Accidents
When a driver flees after a hit and run accident, your only recourse might be with your auto insurance company. Most insurance companies will ask you to file the accident under the provision in your Uninsured Motorist coverage. The state of California has also approved a series of rules for coverage known as the “bright-line” rules.
Applied specifically to coverage for a hit and run accidents, there are a number of coverage rules that are known as bright-line rules, specifically:
- There has to be physical contact between the victim and the at-fault driver.
- The insured driver has to file a police report within 24 hours of the hit and run accident.
- The insured individual is required to file a claim with the insurance company during the first 30 days after the incident.
To make sure there isn’t a costly drain on the insurance industry every year, the legislature decided to implement regulations to ensure that only genuine hit & run accidents are noticed. Talk to one of our personal injury attorneys about what you can do after a hit and run. You might qualify for benefits such as uninsured motorist coverage, health insurance, and other types of insurance coverage.
If you are uncertain of what things you should do after you have been harmed in a hit-and-run accident, call our experienced accident lawyers in Riverside CA at 1-800-HURT-NOW.