California Hit & Run Accident Lawyer
The NHTSA, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, states that a “hit and run” accident is any event that a “driver crashes into another vehicle, a pedestrian, or onto private property, then leaves without identifying himself, rendering aid, or both.” The NHTSA also reports that 11 out of every 100 car accidents in the U.S. is a hit and run accident, which is dangerous, illegal, and also very disrespectful. In the event that you were a victim of a hit and run accident, call California car accident lawyer at the 1-800-HURT-NOW today.
How Do I Go About Finding Help After A Hit and Run?
Directly after an accident, many drivers will leave the scene immediately. Sometimes the other driver will stay near the scene for a while before making the decision to relinquish the formalities of giving and receiving information. In any case, if the other driver decides not to exchange information, make sure that you note as much as you can about the vehicle, the license plate, its driver, and the scene of the incident. Then make sure that you call the police immediately to turn in a police report, making sure that you are proving all the information you documented to the responding officers.
Now you have to be aware that there will be an uphill battle with the insurance company in California; the “bright-line rule,” which is explained below will discuss what the insurance coverage will do after a hit and run incident.
Hit and Run Accidents – Uninsured Motorist Coverage
In the case of a hit and run accident, there is the obvious occurrence that there will only be one insurance company and policy involved (the victim) – the policyholder is required to make a claim under the Uninsured Motorist (UM) provisions.
Applied specifically to coverage for a hit and run incident, there are a number of coverage rules that are known as bright-line rules, specifically:
- There has to be physical contact between the victim and the driver at fault.
- The driver insured has to file a police report within 24 hours of the hit and run accident
- The insured individual is required to file a claim with the insurance company during the first 30 days after the incident.
In order to make sure there isn’t a costly drain on the insurance industry every year, the legislature decided to implement such regulations to ensure that only genuine hit and run accidents are noticed. Talk to one of our personal injury attorneys about what you can do after a hit and run. You have the possibility of receiving benefits like uninsured motorist coverage, health insurance, and other types of insurance coverage.
Don’t Hesitate to Call a California Car Accident Lawyer Today!
If you’re unsure what to do after you’ve been a victim in a hit and run accident in California, don’t hesitate to call 1-800-HURT-NOW.